Michael Schwartz Library
Sources for Raw Data
Raw data is information that has been collected but not formatted or analyized. The following research databases are sources for raw data.
- Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR): A data archive for more than 80,000 studies across a variety of disciplines including: behavioral and social sciences, education, economics, political science, public health, and more. Datasets are available for download in SAS, SPSS, and ASCII formats. NOTE: An account is required to access and download datasets and other features. Please create an account with a valid CSU email address to be granted access.
- Mergent Online - Covers 10,000 public companies and their SEC filings. Includes U.S. and international annual reports. Data tables can be exported to spreadsheet, and custom reports and company lists can be generated.
- Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage - Broad spectrum of industry, company and investment analysis including Industry Surveys, and Equity Research (formerly Stock Reports). Industry data sets include key ratios, benchmarks, constituents, financial metrics, etc. by sub-industry or geography (see Markets tab). Archived Industry Surveys included as far back as 1999 depending upon title continuity. Company data covers a global universe of over 3 million private and public companies. Stock and financial data can be exported to spreadsheet. Company and equity lists can be generated.
- NexisUni – Company Dossier module can generate company lists, industry data, and executive contact sheets. Included data tables can be exported to spreadsheet.
- ReferenceUSA - Provides real-time access to directory information for 10.5 million businesses. Locate every business in the U.S. by company name, location, or type of business. In addition to contact information, ReferenceUSA provides full corporate affiliation linkage, multiple contact names, FAX and toll free numbers, single point mapping, and credit ratings. Consumer data available as well. Lists and reports can be exported to spreadsheet.
- SAGE Stats - A data download and visualization tool hosting social science data about U.S. states, counties, cities, and metropolitan statistical areas from more than 150 different government and non-government sources. It spans topics like employment, crime, religion, and education. The data series are standardized allowing users to easily find, compare, visualize, and export.
- U.S. Political Stats - A data download and visualization tool covering all three branches of the United States government. It brings together content from sources like CQ Roll Call and CQ Press and provides a wealth of information on election returns, congressional floor votes, Supreme Court decisions, plus presidential performance and economic indicators, as well as diverse demographics.